Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim in New Jersey
If You’ve Been Hurt at Work, Call Our Experienced Workers’ Compensation Attorneys
When they’ve been injured on the job, workers know that they are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits but they may not be sure how to go about filing a claim. Navigating the claims process can be difficult. The experienced workers’ compensation attorneys at Shebell & Shebell, LLC fight for injured workers throughout New Jersey. Our office is located in Shrewsbury.
In general, these are the steps involved in filing a workers’ compensation claim in New Jersey:
Report Your Injury To Your Employer
Notify your employer – your boss, supervisor or foreman – that you have been injured in a work-related accident. This begins the claims process. Be sure to describe all of your injuries, no matter how minor they may seem. Include the date, time and place of the accident. While your notification does not have to be in writing, putting it in writing provides documentation that can help your claim. You have 90 days by law to report your injury, but we suggest notifying your employer as soon as possible.
Your Employer Notifies The Division Of Workers’ Compensation
After you notify your employer of your injury, your employer must file a First Report of Injury form with the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation within 21 days. It is a good idea to follow up with your employer to make sure this form was filed.
Your Claim Is Processed
Your employer – or in most cases, your employer’s insurance company -- investigates your claim and decides whether to accept it or reject it.
It sounds like a simple process but getting all the benefits that you deserve can actually be complicated. Insurance companies try to keep their costs low by minimizing your benefits. They may challenge the extent of your injuries or the need for certain types of treatment. They may pressure you into going back to work even though you are still recovering from your injuries.
If you’ve been hurt at work, you may not know what to do next. You probably have a lot of questions. Some of the questions we get from clients include:
- How long do I have to file a workers’ comp claim?
- How long do I have to sue for work-related injuries in New Jersey?
- How long does a workers’ comp settlement take in New Jersey?
- Can an employer fire you for filing a workers’ comp claim?
- Can I file a claim for a stress-related illness?
- How does a filing affect my employer?
You may have may discovered more injuries after filing a claim. You may be filing a claim after termination. Whatever your situation, our attorneys can help you get answers.
Experienced representation that makes a difference
Our firm has been helping injured workers for generations. Since our founding in 1927, we’ve been fighting to help workers hurt on the job get the benefits that they deserve. We know the laws and we know how the system operates. We are determined to help you get the best results.
Our work injury attorneys can help you navigate the claims process every step of the way. From filing your initial claim for benefits to representing you during all hearings, we fight for your best interests. We will be prepared to fight for your benefits in court, if that’s what it takes. We get results for clients and have the testimonials to prove it.
We know the tactics that employers and insurance companies use to keep the amount of your benefits low, and we know how to respond to those tactics. If they challenge your injuries or the need for treatment, we can send you to a doctor for a second opinion. If they suggest you are ready to return to work, we provide evidence that you are still recovering from your injury.
If you were hurt in a workplace accident, don’t take chances. Get an experienced workers’ compensation attorney on your side. Contact us to schedule a free consultation. We’ll review the details of your claim and go over your options. We’ll give you an honest assessment of what to expect and will also answer any questions that you have.